Motivation=zilch.

So, my grand plans for setting a specific time each day to do some writing has pretty much fallen apart. I’ve done a little here and there, but nothing substantial. The only good thing is that prior to this horrible lack of motivation, I was very far ahead on all my writing, so really, no one’s waiting on me for anything. Not just yet.

Being out of work has really sapped my motivation. This is the longest creative drought I’ve had since I decided to start writing comics seriously. So, give or take, about 10 years. And really, it’s been less than a month, but still…

I’ve had a bunch of new ideas. Stuff that would work as a comic. Some pretty good ideas, if I do say so myself (and I do). I worked out a deal of sorts with my buddies Tyler James and Steven Forbes to create a brand new comic from the ground up for their Comixtribe company, where I’d work with Steven, in his editorial capacity, to put something brand new together, and document all the steps in the creation of the idea, to run as a column on their CT site. I like the idea, I just need to get off my ass and start working on it. I also still owe Tyler an 8-page first draft script, so that’s the very first thing I have to do.

And then there’s the ever-expanding concept that Rolf set up. That needs some attention.

But on the bright side, some other projects are coming together. Long Gone is getting very close to completion now. Aaron’s 8 pages through the final issue’s colors. Things are looking great there. Broken’s first issue is ready to rock n’ roll, just need to nail down a publisher for it. And the submission package for Antihero is pretty much done. David’s going to work on a cover, and then I can start the submission process on that one. I sent it to a fellow writer/creator, who gave me some great feedback on it.

So even with this current block/lack of motivation, I still have things coming out. That’s the benefit of being quite so far ahead.

It’s also convention season. There’s a con here in Toronto in March. I worked this con last year, split a table with my buddy Phil McClorey. He’s got a table again this year, but already has a table-mate. I’m debating whether or not it’s worth getting my own table, and I’m leaning towards not getting one this year, as I don’t have anything new that will be ready to be on a table by the middle of March. I do need to talk to Andrew at 215 about the big Toronto Fan Expo in August, and see if there might be a 215 Ink presence there.

So that’s it for now. Hopefully I can get my shit together and start putting words to paper soon.

Oh, last thing: in the past two weeks, I’ve been to the movies and have seen both Haywire and Chronicle. Both excellent films, both highly recommended. Go check them out.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

