A random update for Monday. Because I’m tired.

Things and more things happening. So let’s just get on with it, yeah?

I’m still looking for a colorist. I have a few lines out, waiting on samples to come back to me so I can run them past Sami and Andrew and see what works the best. I have a very specific set of guidelines in mind for the colors, as I may have mentioned once or a hundred times. I hope that this doesn’t become a hindrance for a colorist. I just have such a clear mental picture of what I want it to look like.

But I have my letterer. The illustrious and hard-working ET Dollman has agreed to letter our 8-page submission package. ET worked on both my Long Gone and Ghost Lines series, and always brings the goods. With ET and Andrew, we’re three-fifths of the Long Gone team, reunited.

But other news as well…it’s not a surprise so I won’t keep you in suspense. I got word that the Breakneck trade paperback is a go. I’ve spent most of my morning getting things ready for it. It will contain issues 1-4 (keeping in mind, issue 1 and issue 2 are sold out on all levels, and issue 4 never saw a physical print, only digital). It will have an introduction by none other than Stephen “Jesus Hates Zombies” Lindsay. It will have a credits page illustrated by my buddy Carl Yonder and designed by my buddy MaGnUs. Another Carl pinup will be the back cover, complete with some quotes that show just how awesome Breakneck is. And it will have a cover by Rolf “The Swedish Bastard and Ape-Eater” Lejdegård. I’m pretty psyched, especially since we solicited this trade through Diamond a while ago and the pre-orders just weren’t there.

This is one of the reasons why I love my association with a publisher like 215 Ink. Andrew never gives up on his books. Diamond might have given up, but Andrew, and his Liber Distro company don’t and won’t. Small Press. This is where the future of the industry is going to come from.

I don’t begrudge anyone in the industry who is creating comics. We’re all in the same boat; just some of us have a much bigger audience. But when the two biggest companies in North American comic books continue to play it safe, continue to “reboot” and “rebuild” instead of taking chances and experimenting, things just get stagnant. That’s how I feel about the majority of the books being published these days. Again, I have all the respect in the world for those creators. They are among the best comic book creators in the world, bar none. But too much feels like the parent companies wanting things a certain way. I guess when Warner Brothers and Disney own these two biggest companies, there’s a lot of editorial and managerial red tape to deal with. I don’t know.

If someone offered me a Batman story, I’d write it. Of course I would, who would say no? I even have a Batman story in me. Have for years. If someone offered me Spider-Man though? I don’t know, I don’t know if I have a Spider-Man story in me. I really don’t. But give me Daredevil, and it’s a different story…

But I digress. A Breakneck trade and another piece of the Instinct puzzle. That’s today’s update. I’m tired, give me a break.

Do yourself a favor and go listen to “The Rip Tide” by Beirut.

Leave a Reply

