A random Tuesday update

I love creator-owned comics more than anything. All my life I’ve been creating my own characters and my own stories. 99% of the books I read are creator-owned. I’ve done some work on characters that aren’t mine, like the Oxymoron for Tyler James and ComixTribe, and Apes With Uzis for Rolf Lejdegård, but almost everything else is my creation, my idea, my own work.

Now, that said…I’d be lying if I said I’ve never considered writing comics from some of the bigger publishers. While there’s not a desperate desire burning within me to do this, I thought I’d lay out some things that I’d like to do one day, if the opportunity ever arises.

At DC, there are a couple of properties I’d love to tackle. The main one is The Question. I’m talking the 80s Dennis O’Neill/Denys Cowan version of the Question, Vic Sage, the morally conflicted and inquisitive ass-kicking faceless vigilante. I loved that comic, and would love to bring HubCity back onto the DC landscape. HubCity was always shown as such a horrible environment, a place that was even worse than GothamCity. My idea would be that the government has decided to abandon HubCity, erected walls around it and left the people inside to fend for themselves. Vic Sage, long retired (in my version, he never died during the 52 storyline, and Renee Montoya never became the Question), decides to go back to his old stomping ground to enact some justice. In my version, he’d have a small team assisting him: Hugo Strange, the Batman villain, would be the Q to the Question’s James Bond. Embedded journalist Jack Ryder would use his Creeper persona to help fight crime. And the Kate Spencer-version of Manhunter would also take up residence in HubCity.

The only other book at DC I’d love to write would be a Batman one-shot that I’ve had in my head for years. Just one book, 22 pages, boom, done.

Over at Marvel there are a couple of characters I’d like to take a crack at. First up is Nomad, Captain America’s old partner from the 80s. I have a great way to make him relevant in the year 2012, and I always liked that character. I know the Winter Soldier killed him early in the Ed Brubaker Captain America run, but still.

My other choice at Marvel would be Doctor Nemesis. A Nazi-hunting scientist who made himself artificially smarter and acts like a dick to everyone? Yes please.

Outside of the Big Two, there’s only one other sandbox I’d like to play in: Star Wars. Having grown up in the 80s, how could I not?

But really, none of that is the end-goal. I’d much rather create my own characters and stories, where I have no one to tell me what I can and can’t do.

Today “King Animal” by Soundgarden comes out. Do yourself a favor and go get it.

Leave a Reply

