“The Next Big Thing”

I was asked by my friend and fellow writer Dan Hill (http://dan-hill.org/post/38617377783/the-next-big-thing) to contribute to this growing meme, and being the gracious and incredibly humble individual that I am, I agreed to participate (it’s actually really cool that he asked.)

Here’s my entry;

What is the working title of your book?

Instinct.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

From a few different places. Originally, I wanted to do the “spiritual” successor to Ghost Lines, something with a deep psychological bent to it. From there I adapted the basic idea to incorporate some other ideas. I really wanted to create a distinct character. I find a lot of “evil genius” characters are always well spoken and polite and proper, even as they do awful deeds. I wanted to turn that on its head and create an evil genius who was vulgar and base and terrifying. Thus was born Dominic “The Monster” Arch.

What genre does your book fall under?

I’d call it psychological crime noir.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

It’s been mentioned that the main character looks like Grant Morrison…but in my head, he’s a bald version of Wentworth Miller, who played Michael Scofield in the TV series Prison Break. Maybe slightly bigger, though. And more sadistic.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Dominic Arch is the world’s most infamous supervillain. After a series of missteps finds him incarcerated, the government uses his intellect to solve other crimes. When a potential biological threat unfolds in the United States, the government has no choice but to turn to Arch to help solve the crime. But will their solution end up being worse than the problem? (That may be more than one sentence…)

Will your book be self published or represented by an agency/publisher?

Ideally, it will land at a publisher.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

About two weeks from beginning to end, including notes from the editor.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

It’s a cross between Silence of the Lambs and Batman (specifically the Joker).

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Again, the idea of creating a disturbing and dangerous main character unlike some we’ve seen in comics recently. This isn’t a guy who’s going to present challenging riddles or stage elaborate crimes. He’s a sociopathic monster, has no remorse, and is a very disturbing and vicious individual.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It has incredible art by Sami Kivelä, who recently illustrated the Markosia GN “Dark Lies, Darker Truth”. The creation of the comic is being covered, step by step, on my blog. We’ve covered the full creation of the first page of the comic from initial idea to script to sketches to finished inks to colors to letters.

cover_out

 

I was supposed to send this off to some other creators and have them create their own Next Big Thing entries, but with the holidays and my shocking laziness, that didn’t happen…yet. But I’ll get some of my buddies on-board and link to them when it happens.

This will likely be my last blog post this year, though. I know I’ve been slacking, but it’s justifiable because work’s been brutally busy. I haven’t been able to do any script writing either. But I promise a return to form in the new year. 2013 is going to be my breakout year. More stuff published. More ideas created. More collaborations, more fun, more kickass comics.

Do yourself a favor and spend time with your loved ones this Christmas.

Leave a Reply

