Submissions

Yeah, submissions. They can be a nightmare. They can also crush the spirit and the life out of you when they get rejected. BUT…if you’re creating comics, you gotta be ready for it. You gotta handle it and move on. I’ve had my fair share of rejections. More than I have fingers to count them on. But submission packages and pitches are a part of the game.

So, I’m going to do something here that I wasn’t sure I wanted to do, but I thought maybe it would be helpful, who knows? I’m going to track my submissions here.

I’ve had some pretty great success with submissions packages in the past. Long Gone was pretty much a blind pitch to Markosia. As was Breakneck to 215 Ink.

So in the spirit of sharing knowledge, let’s take a look at what I’ve done this year so far (in 21 days, no less…)

1) Submitted Antihero to Arcana Press. I’m familiar with a few of Arcana’s books and vaguely know a couple of people over there. Plus, they’re a Canadian operation, which makes sense for me.

2) Deep Rest – submitted to Avatar Press. I know I’m aiming pretty high with this one, but what the hell have I got to lose? Deep Rest is a disturbing sci-fi/horror book, in my mind, similar to what Avatar currently publishes. Maybe a little less graphic.

3) Old Ghost was submitted to Titan Comics – the new comic imprint of Titan Books. They had some submission guidelines on their Facebook page, and I had OG ready to go. Old Ghost has a more European feel to it, so hopefully that gives it a bit of a leg up…

4) Scum of the Earth – submitted to Action Lab’s “Danger Zone” imprint. I actually got a response from them, wanting to see the complete GN. Rob’s closing in on the last batch of pages, so once it’s all ready, back to Action Lab it goes.

Now, I feel the need to explain something here. I love the publishers I work with. They’ve treated me exceptionally. They’ve published my comics, I owe them a ton. And me submitting new comics to other publishers is not a slap in the face, it’s no disrespect to them in any way, shape, or form. I’m a believer in networking. I’m a believer in getting my name out there. I’m in this for the long haul. I want to make this a career, if possible.

215 Ink and Markosia are excellent publishers, and I will be working with them both again – new books are gearing up even as I write this. Things are in motion, behind-the-scenes.

This is just me spreading my wings a bit, seeing what else is out there. Maybe nothing will come of any of it. But the chance to have multiple comics published by multiple publishers just creates a bigger presence for my partners and I. Comics is a small industry at heart, and I’m a small fish in that pond. I’d like to become a mid-size fish eventually.

Do yourself a favor on a cold Monday in January and listen to “Modern Guilt” by Beck. It reminds me of the summer.

Leave a Reply

