Some updates (sort of)

So, I admit, my posting here on the blog has been half-hearted lately. That’s not because I haven’t wanted to write here, but a lot of the stuff I want to write about…I can’t right now. But there is a ton of stuff that I can write about, and that’s why I’m back. With bells on, motherfucker.

Anyway – first, just to get it out in the open – I have a pitch that is under consideration at one of the bigger small press companies. Not one I’ve worked for before, either. I really hope to announce something soon (no joke: as I was writing this, the publisher emailed me. I will definitely have something to announce soon, holy shit….)

So anyway, there’s that, there’s Knowledge with Jerome Eyquem and Chris Horan that is going to be published through Markosia – not sure on the format yet. Possibly digital single issues first followed by a trade…

I have some other pitches in the works, things that are in various stages of being pitched:

  • Antihero
  • Old Ghost
  • Instinct
  • Deep Rest

I’m still looking for colors for my sci-fi pitch with Joel Seguin The Argus.

I’m working with Ken Knudtsen on a short sci-fi story that I’m going to pitch to Challenger Comics, because that’s where all the cool kids are hanging out these days. I want it. And Ken’s stuff is phenomenal.

I’m still working away on the Apes With Uzis books – the 4-part series The History Lesson with Kurt Belcher, and the one-shot Thugs Electro with Kevin Enhart. Almost finished scripting the one-shot, which means I can jump back onto the miniseries.

I recently re-read the script for NRV and can’t wait to get it started with Craig DeBoard – assuming he’s still interested when the time comes.

Another pitch project, tentatively called “Jim” is well underway. This one has a fucking exceptional high concept idea, if I do say so myself. I’ll be looking for colors on this one soon. Ken Perry is an ink monster, the pages look amazing, and he’s also a real-life superhero: he’s a firefighter. And no, this isn’t a superhero comic.

Oh, and shit – I offered my assistance, in any way, be it editing/dialogue/etc. etc. to an incredible artist named Valentin Ramon who is working on a new graphic novel. Valentin’s art is jaw-dropping. Like, Geoff Darrow-ish kind of stuff. Anyway, he asked for my help in touching up the dialogue, and I can’t wait to start working with him. The pages he’s already sent me are incredible.

So, that’s that for now. I’m going to try to get back to regular updates here.

Have a good weekend, do yourself a favor and listen to “Source Tags and Codes” by …And You Will Know Us By the Trail of Dead.

Leave a Reply

