Winding down Free Comic Book Day.

So I will go on the record and say that FCBD for me was a success. I didn’t sell a lot of books, but I’ve found that people aren’t coming to a Free Comic Book Day store to purchase things. People want the free stuff. But I moved some copies of Long Gone, and a couple copies of the Oxymoron hardcover (people were intrigued after they saw the Red Ten FCBD book.)

I talked to a lot of people about my books, gave away copies of Instinct and the postcards I had for Ghost Lines, Scum of the Earth, Apes With Uzis: Thugs Electro, and Instinct.

Some funny/interesting stories:

  • A guy asked me to sign his copy of the Superman: Last Son of Krypton book. I had to explain that I wasn’t Geoff Johns and wouldn’t feel right signing a book I had nothing to do with.
  • Some guy picked up a copy of Instinct (the free copy, mind you), read through the whole thing, then put it back on the table and walked away. It was free, he could have taken it with him and not damaged my fragile ego that way.
  • I didn’t get a chance to talk to David Finch or Jason Fabok because the store was jammed the whole day.
  • I picked up a copy of Miller and Mazzucchelli’s Daredevil: Born Again trade paperback for only $12. Only purchase of the day.
  • I found a lot of people weren’t approaching my table so  could give them my spiel about Long Gone, so I put up signs saying “Long Gone is like the Walking Dead if you replace the zombies with superheroes.” That drove more traffic to me, I found. Sorry, Kirkman.
  • Talked comics with a lot of people. That was the best part.

Thanks again to Carlos and the crew at Gotham Central Comics and Collectibles for having me out, and for feeding me as well. Looking forward to next year and having more work to show!

Also, today I got back my signed copy of the contract with Action Lab for Scum of the Earth. It’s official, my friends. As things progress in terms of release dates and things like that, I’ll keep you all up to date.

For now, do yourself a favor and go listen to “Oh Fortune” By Dan Mangan.

2 thoughts on “Winding down Free Comic Book Day.

Leave a Reply

