Updates updates updates!

So, as promised earlier (you DO follow my Twitter feed, right?), here are some updates on what’s going on with my comics.

1)      El Diablo Rojo was officially submitted to a couple of big name publishers last week. The pitch package looks excellent, and I can’t wait to see what happens with it. Neither can Rojo himself:

diablo rojo

2)      Scum of the Earth is getting closer to its release date – the first issue is projected to be released on October 30th. Keep an eye here as I’ll share links when they’re available.

3)      Instinct – I’m making a huge push for Instinct to land somewhere. The pitch package is beautiful, it has a good hook, and I think it can be marketed really well/easily. I’ve set up a website for it at http://instinctcomic.com/ please check it out! It’s my first ever website design, so go easy on me.

4)      Pretty soon I’ll be able to announce the return of Breakneck. Not quite ready to drop the details on this yet, as I still need to get issue 5 ready to go (James Boulton’s last issue as artist), and then we can start the hype for issue 6 and on! Here’s a page from issue 5:

Issue 5 page 1

5)      Jason Jarava has started work on my short story Capacity. This story has had a rough life. It has gone through no less than 5 artists since I first wrote it. A lot of guys have had a crack at it. I hope Jason can nail it down! He’s done a cover, which encompasses everything about Capacity in one image:

Capacity cover

6)      Progress is coming along on my short story New Greece: Earth Shaker. This short is (tentatively) bound for Digital Webbing Press when it’s complete. This was a lot of fun, and I packed a ton of content into an 8-page story. Here’s a penciled page:

N.G. Earth Shaker page 04 -100

7)      Valentin Ramon has started character designs for Pieces of Hate. We’re working this project in Marvel style, so I can’t wait to see the insane stuff he’ll create. Here’s a sample:

Frank Wax

8)      Fear and Pain is all penciled and inked, and awaiting colors. I have to keep working on the script and the synopsis for Kevin. Soon. Soon.

I also started work on a new 4-issue miniseries, and landed an artist for an older project, a 3-issue horror series.

But…I think it’s time to cool my jets a bit. I keep telling myself “no new projects”, but I cannot turn down an artist who wants to work with me. But at the same time, I don’t want to dilute the quality of any of the work. I don’t want to spread myself too thin. I don’t want to not give certain projects the right amount of focus.

Scum of the Earth is complete on my end. It’s just waiting to be released. El Diablo Rojo is partially complete, and I plan to keep working on it in anticipation of it getting picked up. Same goes for Instinct. All the Breakneck scripts are written, and have been for some time, so no new work is needed from me on that front.

I’m stating it here publically: no new projects until some of these current ones pan out. Instinct and Rojo are going to be my main priorities, along with the hyping of Scum when it comes out, and Fear and Pain and Pieces of Hate will be my backups for when I need something to work on.

I like to be prolific. I like to have lots of stuff going on at once. I like to manage a lot of projects. I just don’t want any of the work to suffer because of it. Comics isn’t a sprint, it’s a marathon, and those other ideas and projects aren’t going anywhere. I’ve already got a bunch of stuff lined up that I’m hoping to work on next year, and it’s only the beginning of October, for fuck’s sake.

Slow and steady wins the race. I think part of my problem is that I’ll be 35 next year. I thought I’d have a steady, paid writing gig at Marvel by now (okay, that’s what I wanted when I was 18, that’s not the case now, but I digress). I know comics can be a hard road, it can take a long time for things to take off. I have faith in the quality of all my work, and I know it’s just a matter of time.

I just hope I’m not in adult diapers by the time it happens.

That’s it for me this week. Do yourself a favor and go listen to “Repave” by Volcano Choir. You can thank me later.

Leave a Reply

