Project, projects, projects.

I’ve decided to stop saying “no new projects” because how can I pass things up when the stars align and I find amazing artists to work on things with? I have never said “No, I’m too busy” to an artist, and I can’t imagine ever saying that.

I’ve put together a new strategy to handle new projects though. It’s probably not a very revolutionary setup, but I’m excited for the potential – for every new idea I have, I’m writing a setup sequence, a pitch sequence, of between 8 and 10 pages max. Almost a short story to introduce characters and setting and theme, etc.

This works twofold – for one, it’s not a major undertaking for an artist, and two, it lets me get that idea out and onto paper and turned into pages for submission. I always know where each story is going, and will often write more than the initial 8 pages, but those first 8 pages are all I send to the artist for the time being.

I’ve got several projects of this type happening right now. Here’s some teasers….

Funhouse – a cross between the SAW movie franchise and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

Patchwork – an angel and a devil have to work together to stop a monstrous creature from disrupting delicately balanced celestial scales.

The Devil’s Hitman – what kind of person would agree to be the Devil’s hired gun?

Truth Bullet – I’m not an assassin, but I play one on TV.

Graves – a new FUBAR story.

Over the past 3-4 weeks, I’ve been lucky enough to get in touch with a lot of talented artists. I feel like maybe I’m starting to get some notoriety in the small press crowd, like maybe my name attached to something means something? Hopefully that something is quality. Either that, or lots of punching and dick jokes, I’ll take either.

Here’s a link to an article my good buddy Steven Forbes wrote about increasing the awareness of your brand. First, I was humbled to be included, and Forby says a lot of nice things about me, but second, it really made me stop and think about the “Mark Bertolini” brand. I have a lot of work out there, I do a lot of hype, I talk a lot about my stuff. Because if I don’t, who will?

http://www.comixtribe.com/2013/10/08/bn-week-146-increasing-awareness-of-your-brand/

Also while you’re over perusing ComixTribe, I want to give a shout out to my buddy Tyler James, who just ran another successful Kickstarter campaign for his new book EPIC.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/tylerjamescomics/epic-a-superteen-action-comedy

Okay, that’s it for today. Do yourself a favor and go listen to “Mirrored” by Battles.

One thought on “Project, projects, projects.

Leave a Reply

