Kenga #1 – world premiere!

My oldest son Ryan turned 10 in April, and for his birthday, I gave him his own comic book. Not a comic for him, though, a comic created BY him.

In December, I asked him to write me a short story. He created some characters, drew them up, and then wrote a little one-page story about them. I then took that story, adapted it into a comic book script, and sent it and the character designs to my good friend Carl Yonder, who was gracious enough to take the time to illustrate the 8-page story.

I surprised Ryan on his 10th birthday with a stack of his very own comic book.

Tomorrow, on Free Comic Book Day, he’s going to table with me and sell some copies of his book for a buck apiece. He’s super excited about it, and so am I, truth be told. Ever since I gave him the comic, he’s been writing and drawing up a storm, getting his next issues ready. He’s 10, and he’s already making money making comics.

Here, for the first time ever, is Kenga #1, written by Ryan Bertolini (with some assistance from his old man) and illustrated by Carl Yonder (who did me the biggest solid in the world by making this happen, and who I can’t thank enough.)

1234567891011

There you go, the first ever appearance of Kenga, Chompy, and Sensei Bananas, created by Ryan Bertolini, age 10.

If you’re in Mississauga tomorrow, and you stop by Gotham Central Comics, you might have the chance to get your hands on a print copy of this bad boy!

That’s it for updates today, but more to come in the next week or so!

Leave a Reply

