Me? IDW? A match made in comic book heaven.

Yup, you read that title right. I am now going to be officially published by IDW.

My story is called “Bottle of Walter” and will be featured in the anthology Imaginary Drugs, which will be published by IDW this fall.

This is huge for me (and everyone else involved), this is easily the biggest credit to my name, and I couldn’t be more excited about it.

Here’s the scoop – I’m friends with the guys who put together Imaginary Drugs. I’ve seen the work they’ve been putting in for a while, and when they launched a Kickstarter for the book, I was right in there to place an order. The Kickstarter was super successful, and as they hit higher goals, they mentioned adding pages and adding stories, and I reached out to the editor and all-round ID bossman, Michael McDermott, and told him I’d love to contribute a story. Michael gave me 5 pages, and paired me up with artist Luke Parker.

I pitched Bottle of Walter to both of them, and Michael really seemed to dig it, it fit in with the weird tone of the anthology. I’ll go over the impetus for Bottle of Walter another time.

Luke Parker. My god, Luke Parker. He killed it, this is a gorgeous looking 5 page story. Luke has a hell of a unique style, sort of Mignola influenced but also fully all his own. I was psyched to work with him, and my buddy Nic J. Shaw came onboard to letter the story. I think I’ve shown this off before, but here’s my favorite panel from the book, and the basic gist of the entire story:

BoW

I can’t wait for this book to come out. It validates a lot of things for me, but the biggest validation is that there are people who I consider my peers who are interested in the stories I want to tell, and will give me space in their sandboxes when there’s room. That means a lot.

This is going to be a good year for me, comics-wise, with Imaginary Drugs and Scum of the Earth coming out. That’s me hitting more goals, but not all the goals. There’s still a lot of work to do, and a lot of work to come.

My name is Mark Bertolini, and I fucking love making comics.

3 thoughts on “Me? IDW? A match made in comic book heaven.

  1. Congratulations Mark! It’s a confirmation of your talent and all your hard work making comics tirelessly. Hopefully this is only the tip for you and you will go on to many more great accomplishments. Would it be too much to ask for you to check out my art and let me know what you think and if you’d like to work on something in the future. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

